Tags

,

I myself have never been able to get too excited about the humble potato…to me, they translate to carbohydrates, which translates to extra time on the elliptical…personally, chocolate is my main motivation to add minutes to my workout. However! I will admit, when prepared properly, with a bevy of classic and tasty toppings, potatoes can earn a place on my table 🙂

That, and I am married to a man. That, and I had a Grampa who thought the sun rose & set on the old Irish staple… Therefore potatoes are unavoidable in my life. I welcomed them with open arms (and loads of toppings…and tons of fun for my brandy-new red KitchenAid Immersion Blender) this evening.

Ingredients:

2 large Russet potatoes

2 tablespoons Earth Balance (or butter)

Salt & pepper to taste

1/4 cup fresh chopped chives

1/4 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 cup cream

1/4 cup fresh fat-free sour cream

…and for the carnivores in your life, 4 strips crumbled crispy fried bacon…

Directions:

1) Scrub potatoes until clean, and either bake them at 375 for about 20 minutes, or do my Grampa’s ahead-of-the-times trick…stab ’em with a fork, rub liberally with butter, and microwave on high, 10 minutes for two potatoes.

2) Allow potatoes to cool to the touch, or handle with care…slice neatly down the center, scoop out flesh, add to a bowl with the Earth Balance, 1/4 cup cream, salt & pepper, and puree with immersion blender. When filling has been blended to the smooth consistency you prefer, add half the cheese & chives, stir, and stuff back into potato skins.

3) Bake, uncovered, at 400 degrees, for about 20 more minutes. When ready to serve, plate topped layers of remaining cheese, chives, sour cream and optional bacon.

 

