Tags

,

Mushrooms…where to start! I love them. Goose loves them smothered in Earth Balance & cream! Kevin will even eat this soup when I make it. Grampa loved it! I discovered the mushroom a few years ago, after a lifetime of being grossed out by the cute little things.

Grampa loved to tell me how much he loved mushrooms…could this be why I finally decided to give them a chance? He would tell the story of the year he couldn’t get enough mushrooms, literally snacking on them, tossing them in his mouth like buttered popcorn. He chalked it up to, “I must’ve had some sort of vitamin deficiency. I ate them by the box!” He would muss, “My little dog, Typhoon, sat right up next to me when your Grandmother and I would do our coastal R.V trip…I would eat one, and he would gobble one right up…back and forth, until the whole box was empty!”

He made me laugh when he shared the tale of the Big Snow Storm. (You have to be from Rhode Island to know what a crisis a Big Snow Storm created). Anyway, the road was a mess, and he couldn’t get his truck out of the driveway…he abandoned it, and marched up the hill to DeCastros, determined to get his mushroom fix…imagine his bitter disappointment when he discovered the farmstand was closed! Well, he wasn’t disappointed with this soup when I whipped it up for him.

Ingredients:

3/4 cup each:

Shiitake mushrooms

Baby Bella mushrooms

White Button mushrooms

3-4 stalks celery hearts, plus leaves

2 large shallots, sliced

3-4 cloves fresh garlic, minced

1/2 cup chopped scallions

1/4 cup Earth Balance (or butter)

4 cups organic vegetable broth

1 cup cream

1 cup water

Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Slice mushrooms into hearty slices; set aside. Saute shallots & garlic in melted Earth Balance 2-3 minutes until fragrant, add chopped celery hearts & leaves. Continue to saute another 3 or so minutes.

2) Pour in vegetable broth and water, add mushrooms and bring to a rapid boil. Decrease heat to a simmer, add salt & pepper. Allow to simmer about 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3) When mushrooms are softened but still firm, add cup of cream, stir well, and serve! Garnish with chopped scallions and enjoy.

